a
Gotta share my love for Taylor Swift and lettering ^_^

I’m not the biggest TSwift fan out there, but I am a fan nonetheless, and her songwriting skill is one that never ceases to amaze me. Listening to her words always makes me feel like I’m on some life audio tour; the lyrics are just so damn relatabale.

Ten years ago, Taylor Swift was just barely making it in the music industry. Today, she’s a super big name with a string of super big name ex-boyfriends and super big controversies: from Bye Bye Spotify to I Lied And Actually Gave Permission To Kanye to I Wrote Tom’s Name In That Blank Space. Okay, I just made those titles up, but even if you’re not a fan, I bet you know every single story behind them, hee hee!

So to enter into the spirit of #10YearsOfTaylorSwift, here’s my personal favorites from her discography. :)

10. If This Was A Movie (Speak Now)

Come back, come back, come back to me like / You could, you could if you just said you’re sorry / I know that we could work it out somehow / But if this was a movie you’d be here by now

Because movies always have a happy ending. So if this was a movie, even if they ended and lived separate lives, he’ll come back to her before the end.

9. You Are In Love (1989)

And you understand now why they lost their minds and fought the wars / And why I spent my whole life trying to put it into words

These lines are actually the reason why this song made it to my top 10. The song really just talks about how someone could tell if what he or she feels indeed is love, but those lines cleverly captured what such powerful force can really do: “lost their minds” and “fought the wars” are the most extreme outcomes of falling in love.

8. Mary’s Song (Taylor Swift)

Take me back to the time we had our very first fight / The slamming of doors instead of kissing goodnight / You stayed outside till the morning light /  Oh, my my my

I especially like songs that tell a story and not just talking about the #feels. By talking about specific situations, it becomes easy for me to visualize the scene and relate to it more. This is one of those songs.

7. Speak Now (Speak Now)

And you say, “Let’s run away now / I’ll meet you when I’m out of my tux at the back door / Baby, I didn’t say my vows / So glad you were around when they said, “Speak now”

Speaking of songs that tell a story, Speak Now is one of my favorites. It’s a crazy tale about crashing a wedding, and while I don’t think this is going to happen in real life, it’s still fun to listen to.

6. Haunted (Speak Now)

Best lines: He will try to take away my pain / And he just might make me smile / But the whole time I’m wishing he was you instead

I like this song mainly because the music doesn’t sound country at all, but more like mild grunge-slash-angry girl playing guitar LOL.

5. Blank Space (1989)

Oh my God, look at that face / You look like my next mistake

This song is very wittingly written and is just pure genius, I can’t imagine anyone else singing it. Way to go for TS to be sarcastically playfully singing about the world’s image of her.

4. The Last Time (Red)

This is the last time I’m asking you this / Put my name at the top of your list / This is the last time I’m asking you why / You break my heart in the blink of an eye

Gary Lightbody’s voice is very much welcome in this duet ballad. It’s like a conversation where they both answer each other’s words in the song. I first heard this at a time when I felt taken for granted from a previous relationship and the lyrics really spoke to me big time.

3. Wildest Dreams (1989)

Say you’ll remember me / Standing in a nice dress / Staring at the sunset, babe / Red lips and rosy cheeks / Say you’ll see me again / Even if it’s just in your / Wildest dreams

The music video for this song is a gem, like I’m watching a super enticing trailer for a really good vintage film. Wildest Dreams is, hands down, my favorite from 1989.

2. Enchanted (Speak Now)

This is me praying that / This was the very first page / Not where the story line ends 

I already liked this song as is, but I liked it even more when I found out that: one, it’s for Owl City guy Adam Young; and two, that Adam sang this as well in his album, Valentines Day, with minor changes in lyrics (look for it in YouTube). Adam also added, “‘Cause you were all of my dreams come true / And I just wished you knew / Taylor, I was so in love with you”

1. Never Grow Up (Speak Now)

So here I am in my new apartment / In a big city, they just dropped me off / It’s so much colder than I thought it would be / So I tuck myself in and turn my night light on / Wish I’d never grown up

This song’s sweet melody paired with a lyrics talking about the sad reality of growing up is just too much, sniff sniff! It reminds me of the good ole days of my childhood before all the heartbreaks ravaged my perfect idea of love. I used to listen to this song every night before I sleep. ^_^

YAS! You made it to the end of the list, congratulations! But my fangirling isn’t over yet; I have one last song that takes the place of a Special Mention. It’s not in my top 10 because it didn’t enter my head when I was coming up with the list, but now that I’m thinking hard, I realize that it deserves to be given appreciation.

0. Invisible (Taylor Swift)

If you only knew me / We could be a beautiful / Miracle, unbelievable / Instead of just invisible

Remember the days when you’re dying to get noticed by your crush? This song gives off that “one-way affection” vibes that is so strong, you’d want to confess your feelings soon. ^_^

Happy 10-year anniversary, Taylor! Love, a Swiftie. <3

Let me know what you think! :)

