Iphoneography became a legit term back in 2008 with the quick rise of iOS photo filter apps, i.e. Hipstamatic. With the iPhone’s camera getting more and more powerful every year, iPhoneography has come a long way since.

img_8095

I am not an “iPhoneographer” in the sense that I don’t use my phone’s camera the same way I’d use a DSLR. But when I do get in the mood to capture something in an artsy partsy sort of way, I know I can rely on my phone to do so. After all, the medium is only as good as the one who uses it. :)

img_6262

It was back in 2009 when I first became fascinated with photography. I bought a DSLR and, truth be told, no amount of fancy technology slapped at the back of the most high-end mobile phone can replace the feel of looking through a camera’s viewfinder.

img_6180

But if there’s one thing I learned about photography, no matter what medium we use, it’s this: like any other kind of art, it is SUBJECTIVE. A technically accurate photo does not always translate to a great photo if it does not evoke any kind of response from its audience.

batch_img_9042

Because mobile phones are literally just “point and shoot,” people focus more on the overall feel / mood / story in a photo, which is usually measured by only one thing: is it Instagrammable? If not, probably best not to post it LOL. ;)

batch_img_8685

I follow several Instagram accounts that take great photos, but not all of them is a photography account. Some are fashion posts, lifestyle, flatlays, etc. Their photos stand out because they shoot with a theme. And I’m on the process of learning that so I could curate my feed as well. :)

batch_img_9094

I no longer have a DSLR, not in the past 5 years. I have no plans on getting one anytime soon, so I have to make do with my phone for now. Well, turned out it actually isn’t so bad. :)

Processed with Snapseed.

All photos were taken using iPhone 5C and post-processed in iOS app Snapseed and/or Instagram.

Let me know what you think! :)

